Naritasan Shinshoji Temple

Narita, our temporary home hasn’t got much by way of attractions, but what it has is gigantic. The Naritasan Shinshoji Temple is a huge complex of temples, bell towers, shrines and a Japanese garden just 1km down the hill from where we’re staying. You can see a map of the complex HERE.

We saw part of the “Goma rite” and this is, as explained on the temple website: “The Goma rite is a mysterious temple service in which we pray to Fudomyoo, the main deity of Naritasan Temple, for the fulfillment of our wishes.”
Well Fudomyoo must have read my mind as about 1 hour later, while we sat down for lunch, I spotted a gorgeous Kimono ( I wanted one as a souvenir) at a ridiculously low price! I bought it and am now trying to figure out where I shall hang it at home.

Anyways! Beside my wish being granted, I will keep adding temple pictures to my photo album in the coming months, so keep an eye on it HERE.

A couple of my favorites:
CIMG4177
Carvings and paintwork on the ‘Three storied Pagoda’

CIMG4179
Trees

CIMG4193
Turtles in the pond by the ‘Niomon Gate’

CIMG4192
Statues and ….stones

Hope you enjoy them, will go for a snooze and if I get a change with the smurg asleep or in the bath I will share my Kimono with you. Tried earlier but Missy wanted to kiss it with sticky banana lips

*R*

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Phyllis B
    May 24, 2012 @ 00:00:12

    How amazing and wonderful to see all of this and learn a little of the history.
    It is such a colorful place ..I keep going back and seeing new things in your photos.
    What a wonderful place to visit.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

