Another walk down Naritasan Omotesando Street

Finally figured out the name of “Temple Street” it’s “Naritasan Omotesando Street”. Took again my daily walk down towards the temple when I spotted the most amazing store!  a Mr. Magorium’s Wonder Emporium Japanese style.Only thing I could think was WOW, and make sure my eyes didn’t fall out!

NOTE
If you’re an animal rights activist, faint hearted or against the art of taxidermy, then please do not read on. The following does not express my personal view on the subject, I was just enthralled and amazed to see something like this in the flesh.

 Right, if you’re still with me, I guess you’re none of the above, or just really curious what I came across.

So as I said I was just a walking down the street, singing doo wa diddy diddy, well I was actually talking to the smurg when I spotted the most innocuous looking store.

 

doc12
Admit that looks pretty ordinary, no? I thought so, until I peeked at the goods displayed within.

doc10
Now that looked a little more exiting. Pretty masks, lovely little bonsai, uhmm am I seeing a few elephant tusks?

doc1
See what I see?

doc2
What’s that animal?

doc3
Japanese raccoon!

doc5
Notice what’s in the jars?

doc6
Yes I know those things on the plate are mushrooms! Look at the jars!

doc6b
Exactly! Snakes and seahorses!

doc7
I said snakes, that’s a big one!

doc4
At exactly 3PM my world would never be the same again, this is probably the most amazing store I have ever seen

doc8
And if all that wasn’t enough, the owner also had a gigantic wasp/bees nest hang from the ceiling

There is so much to say about all this, but where to start? Each time I look at the pictures I see something new, something exiting and strange. Traditional medicine we all hear about it, when another shipment of rhino horns is confiscated somewhere at customs. But actually see a shop where an old man stands behind a counter grinding mysterious bits in a mortar? That’s a whole different story.

And with this I wish you all a good night and a pleasant weekend. The Boss isn’t working this weekend so we are off to Hakone, Kamakura and Mt. Fuji and I will update again next week.

*R*

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cathy
    May 19, 2012 @ 04:37:27

    I am really enjoying your trip via pictures and words! I am glad you are having fun.

    Reply

  2. Phyllis B
    May 20, 2012 @ 11:44:23

    Oh how wonderful to see all of this.Thanks for allowing us to share your trip Ren..
    Hugs Phyllis B

    Reply

Leave a Reply

