Rice Paddies

I love rice, and I mean LOVE it! Brown rice, white rice, sticky rice, dry rice, long grain, short grain. Risotto, Egg fried, the rice under sushi, my warm rice and cold tuna summer risotto (will share the receipe if anyone is interested), with stews and chilli con carne. You name it, I’ll eat it.

Said that, my knowledge of rice growing is limited. Asia and rice paddies, don’t think I ever looked further into it.

So here some rice trivia:
– Rice is the seed of the monocot plants Oryza sativa (Asian rice) or Oryza glaberrima (African rice)
– Rice is often directly associated with prosperity and fertility, therefore there is the custom of throwing rice at weddings
– The secret ingredient that gives ancient Chinese mortar its legendary strength is sticky rice
– One seed of rice yields more than 3,000 grains
– Rice was introduced to Japan sometime before 100 B.C. from China or Korea
– There are more than 190,000 varieties of rice in the world
– Rice straws are used for fuel or as thatch for the roofs of houses; crafted into apparel, shoes, handicrafts, and toys; it can be made into paper and molded into bricks. It can also be twisted into rope, made into sandals, mats, rugs, blankets, and brooms
– 65 kilos of rice are milled annually for every person on earth

Wiki has a lot of info about rice HERE

So when we were at Boso-no-Mura I was quite thrilled to see on the map that there were a few rice paddies I could explore.
Much better then the endless rows of paddies we saw from buses, trains and the car over the last few weeks.

CIMG5189

The rice paddies at Boso-no-Mura look rather romantic I think
CIMG5257

Closeup they look like this
CIMG5253

I liked the fact that you could still see the footsteps of those who planted this field
CIMG5255

In the foreground of this rice paddy you can see a block of seedlings
CIMG5305

They get pulled out and tied into little bunches
CIMG5299

And then thrown out into the paddy ready to be planted
CIMG5284

This picture shows how a line with beads in strung over the paddy to help as a guide as to where to plant each seedling
CIMG5294

Amazing how fast they manage to plant a row
CIMG5292

All manually done, by a group, it fills up very quickly
CIMG5300

I actually filmed how they do this

And then months later, this is all thats left when the rice has been removed
CIMG5271

Even that is used to make roofs, sandals, rope and more

In this location, and in many spots I have seen people plant their rice by hand, but there are machines too that do this, and thats probably the rice we get to eat.

*R*

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. the chook lady
    Jun 05, 2012 @ 11:44:39

    I would love to plant rice. I love trying to grow different plants. You know, i might be able to grow three or four in a container. Oh, i must stop myself.
    R, i really enjoyed this post. I’ve been busy for a few days so i haven’t kept up with my “social network” :oP i am going to catch up on your blog right now. And later tonight i am going to post to my blog. I have been neglecting it for the last year or so. Inspiring post, R. Thank you.

    Reply

  2. Maktub
    Jun 08, 2012 @ 22:15:15

    Go for it, I don’t see why that wouldnt work on a container or pond? Glad you enjoyed this, I really loved finding all this info out and see how they go about it. Let me know your blog address would love to follow

    Reply

Leave a Reply

