Hydrangea Festival at Sogo Reido Sanctuary

The month of June has the Hydrangea Festival at the Sanctuary. On Sunday’s they have a public tea ceremony (it was too busy so I passed on that) a concert with traditional Japanese instruments and roughy 7000 Hydrangeas in bloom.
I love Hydrangeas, with daisies, they are m favorite flowers. I never realised how many different varieties there are.
1-hydrangeas

So sad I cannot bring plants to Australia as some of them I have never seen. If any of you are aware of the names of these Hydrangeas I would love to know so I can search for them back home and make my own Hydrangea garden.

*R*

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Roberta
    Jun 29, 2012 @ 14:05:29

    Ren, in America, the ones that have the small flowers in the center and the large ones around the edge can be known as Lace Cap Hydrangeas. Roberta

    Reply

    • Maktub
      Jun 29, 2012 @ 15:15:30

      Thanks Roberta, that be helpful now figure out of these colors are of a ‘special edition’, not sure how one says that in English.
      I was impressed that they had all different colors together, blues, whites, purples, pinks. Wonder how they manage that as color depends on the PH of the soil.

      *R*

      Reply

Leave a Reply

