Curb Trove: Display Cabinet & Display doodah shelf thingy

I did it again!
Although this time is more a hand me down than a curb trove. Someone asked me if I was interested in a 1960-70s display cabinet.
Well like shoes, a woman can never have enough display cabinet when she lives in the Australian countryside along a dirt road (lots of dust during the summer!) when she collects so many things. So I said yes. Still need to go and pick it up but this is what it looks like

P1030284

It needs some work, a good dust, a repaint and maybe new legs, although I’m quite partial to these ones. Based on the measurements given it might not fit at the end of my corridor, where I’d like it, so if it doesn’t it will move to our bedroom.

Plans already forming. If it will go to our bedroom, I will sand the whole thing down, and repaint it white so it will fit with the bed I’m planning to build (but that’s another story) and maybe replace the drawer handles with something new. If it does fit at the end of the corridor I will repaint it black and leave handles as is, depending on how worn out they are or replace with similar.

I’m very taken by the cabinet and looking forward to work on it.

Said that I’m also working on another curb trove. I’m not sure what to call it so display doodah shelf thingy will do.

CIMG0605

Nothing fancy but it will look gorgeous once I stain it and move it to the other side of the house and stack the top with my collection of teacup planters, full of plants, and hang of the rail (which does not show well in this picture) teapots full of plants.

So I got another 2 projects to get working on

*R*

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. joanie
    Jan 28, 2013 @ 11:39:45

    Love your display cabinet and the shelf for your teacup plants, love to see them when they are finished

    Reply

Leave a Reply

